Woteki and Francis receive American Society for Nutrition Foundation National Scientific Achievement Awards


Rockville, MD (April 10, 2024) – The American Society for Nutrition (ASN) and the ASN Foundation proudly announce the distinguished recipients of the 2024 National Scientific Achievement Awards today. Recognizing outstanding contributions and pioneering advancements in the field of nutrition, these awards serve as a testament to excellence and innovation.

“We are delighted to honor these exceptional individuals whose groundbreaking work continues to shape the landscape of nutrition research,” remarked Kevin Schalinske, PhD, President of ASN. “Their contributions not only enrich our understanding of nutrition but also inspire future generations of nutrition professionals.” 

Schalinske is a Morrill Professor in Iowa State University’s Department of Food Science and Human Nutrition.

Catherine E. Woteki, PhD, Chair of the ASN Foundation Board of Trustees, expressed gratitude for the continued growth of the Scientific Achievement Awards program, attributing its success to the unwavering support of generous donors and advocates. “We take great pride in recognizing this esteemed cohort of leaders across all career stages for their profound contributions to the nutrition community and their commitment to improving public health.”

Woteki is a Professor in Iowa State’s Department Food Science and Human Nutrition. She is also the recipient of the 2024 ASN Volunteer of the Year Award. The award recognizes outstanding contributions to enhance, promote and support the activities and programs of ASN.

Sarah Francis, Professor in Food Science and Human Nutrition and Jane Armstrong Chair in Food Science and Human Nutrition, was honored with ASN’s 2024 Excellence in Nutrition Education Award.

The Excellence in Nutrition Education Award is given for outstanding contributions to teaching nutrition. Recipients have demonstrated superior ability as an educator in nutrition science and the award is traditionally supported by the Nestlé Nutrition Institute.

Woteki and Francis, along with all ACN National Scientific Awardees, will be celebrated June 29 – July 2 in Chicago, Ill., at ASN’s annual flagship meeting, NUTRITION 2024.